John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination
Public EV charging station in Madeira, Florida (Pinellas County) . Data sourced from the US Department of Energy NREL Alternative Fuel Stations dataset.
Quick facts
| Address | 179 Board Walk Pl E, Madeira, FL 33708 |
|---|---|
| Network | Tesla Destination |
| Charger type | Level 2 |
| Connectors | J1772, Tesla |
| Ports | Level 1: 0 · Level 2: 10 · DC Fast: 0 (10 total) |
| Max power | 3.70 kW |
| Location type | Parking Garage |
| In service since | Apr 27, 2023 |
| Hours | Not specified in dataset |
| Pricing | Not specified in dataset |
| Access | Public |
| Coordinates | 27.7847290, -82.7826800 |
| Last confirmed | Jul 1, 2024 |
About this location
John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination is a level 2 EV charging location at 179 Board Walk Pl E in Madeira, FL. It is listed under the Tesla Destination network with J1772, Tesla connector compatibility and 10 Level 2 port(s) .
The dataset records this site as parking garage, which usually tells you what to expect while you wait — whether that is a quick errand stop or somewhere you can sit down for an hour.
Always confirm live availability and pricing in the network’s app before you arrive. Status and fees can change faster than directory updates.
How long charging takes here
Estimates below assume about 3.7 kW, which adds roughly 12 miles of range per hour. Level 2 is best for a long stop, an overnight stay, or topping up while you shop.
| Battery size | Example | 10-90% |
|---|---|---|
| Compact (~40 kWh) | Nissan Leaf | 9 hr 24 min |
| Crossover (~65 kWh) | Chevy Bolt EUV | 15 hr 17 min |
| Long range (~78 kWh) | Tesla Model Y LR | 18 hr 20 min |
| Truck / SUV (~100 kWh) | F-150 Lightning ER | 23 hr 30 min |
Real times vary with battery temperature, state of charge, and how many cars share the unit. Florida heat in particular can slow a session — see why charging speed drops.
Will your car work here?
This location lists J1772, Tesla. Here is who each plug serves:
| J1772 (Level 2) | Every non-Tesla EV sold in the US. Tesla drivers need the J1772 adapter that ships with the car. |
|---|---|
| Tesla / Supercharger | Tesla vehicles. Some sites are open to CCS cars via Magic Dock — check the Tesla app first. |
Not sure which plug your car uses? Read our guide to EV connector types in Florida.
Before you go
- Check live status in the app — this directory reflects the official dataset, not real-time availability.
- Have a backup stall in mind. If a session will not start, one retry then move on is usually faster than troubleshooting.
- Level 2 rewards long stops. Plug in when you park, not when the battery is nearly empty.
- EV charging help & troubleshooting covers status lights, payment failures, and slow sessions.
Nearby chargers
FUSION Resort - Tesla Destination
Treasure Island · 1.4 mi · Level 2
Madeira Cove Condominium
Madiera Beach · 1.5 mi · Level 2
NW Collision Center
St. Petersburg · 2.8 mi · DC Fast
Town of Redington Shores
Redington Shore · 3.0 mi · Level 2
Simon Tyrone Square (St Petersburg, FL)
ST Petersburg · 3.1 mi · DC Fast
Sailboat Key
South Pasadena · 3.1 mi · Level 2
Publix #1199
St. Petersburg · 3.2 mi · Level 2
Mastry's Brewing Co
ST Petersburg · 3.4 mi · Level 2
FAQ
What type of charger is at John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination?
This location is listed as Level 2 charging with 10 total port(s). Connector types: J1772, Tesla.
What network operates this station?
John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination is listed under the Tesla Destination network in the US Department of Energy NREL dataset.
Where is John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination located?
179 Board Walk Pl E, Madeira, FL 33708. Coordinates: 27.7847290, -82.7826800.
What are the hours for this charger?
Hours are not specified in the official dataset. Confirm on-site or via the network app before visiting.
How long does it take to charge at John's Pass Plaza - Tesla Destination?
At roughly 3.7 kW this charger adds about 12 miles of range per hour, so a long range (~78 kwh) pack needs around 18 hr 20 min to go from 10-90%. Level 2 suits long stops rather than quick top-ups.
Will my car work at this charger?
This location lists J1772, Tesla. J1772 (Level 2): Every non-Tesla EV sold in the US. Tesla drivers need the J1772 adapter that ships with the car. Tesla / Supercharger: Tesla vehicles. Some sites are open to CCS cars via Magic Dock — check the Tesla app first.
Sources
Station record sourced from US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center (NREL) via ChargingNear.me (CC-BY-4.0). External ID: 259993.